Board of Trustees

The primary responsibilities of the Board of Trustees are to advance RISD’s mission, to provide organizational oversight and to set policy.

Officers of the Board

Michael H. Spalter, Chair
Lisa Pevaroff-Cohn 83 TX, Vice Chair
David Barclay, Vice Chair

Term Trustees

Michael D. Allen BArch 82
Louis Beal, Life Trustee
John Beug
Erica Di Bona
Susan Dryfoos
Joe Gebbia 05 GD/ID
Robert W. Glass
Richard W. Haining, Sr.
V. Duncan Johnson
Jon Kamen
Amy Korenvaes 74 SC
Mary Lovejoy
Stephen A. Metcalf
Susan B. Montgomery 71 AE
Nicole Miller 73 AP
Steven G. Perelman
Merrill W. Sherman, Chair Emerita
Sandra P. Smith BAR 69
Peter D.A. Stein
William G. Tsiaras
Margaret A. Williams

Ex-Officio Trustees

Meghan Reilly Michaud 01 GD, Past President, RISD Alumni Council
Rosanne Somerson 76 ID, President, RISD
Jeffrey Yan BArch 01, President, RISD Alumni Council

Honorary Trustees

Nancy S. Angier
Anthony C. Belluschi BArch 66
Jane Chace Carroll
Clara M. Dale BArch 75
Robert F. Dixon BArch 71
Bayard C. Ewing
Barnet Fain
Louis A. Fazzano
Anne B. Fordyce 67 SC
Peter B. Freeman
Katherine Freygang 80 IA/MFA 81 GDA
Corwin Frost 59 AR
Wilfrid L. Gates, Jr. 65 LA
Paula Koffler Granoff
Sidney F. Greenwald
William R. Hammer
Ronne Hartfield
Dorothy Hebden-Heath 57 PT
Erma W. Leavitt 44 PT
Se-Ung Lee
David A. Macaulay BArch 69
John O.C. McCrillis 39 GD
Pauline C. Metcalf
Stuart J. Murphy 64 IL
J. Terrence Murray
Dana M. Newbrook 63 AR
Joan Ress Reeves
Jens Risom
M. Kate Rittman
Philip E. Tobey BArch 66
Armand Versaci
William J. Watkins
Patricia White 64 IL

At RISD there's nothing unusual about suddenly finding a doorknob on a tree trunk, shown here across from Carr House,
the charming home of Student Life offices and the student-run Carr Haus Café.