E101 Prize

Almost every incoming student takes the Literary Arts and Studies Department’s required E101 course, Literature Seminar: Design in Words. Each year at convocation the department awards the E101 prize to the student whose essay combines critical acumen, literary sophistication and a clear, individual writing voice in the most original way.

Current Winner

Megan Jerbic (2012)


Past Winners

Willa Anderson (2011)
Emily Neilson (2011)
Lacey Hall (2010)
Lizzie Kripke (2009)

Marika Cowan (2008)
Christine Shin (2007)



English Foreground Image 5
Students in RISD's liberal arts classes benefit from animated group discussions and thinking about the
meaning and context of their work.