Contacts + Staff

Student Affairs at Rhode Island School of Design provides opportunities for all students to develop personally, socially and intellectually. In support of the academic mission, we foster the skills engaged citizens need for success and achievement. We create active learning environments that support students' co-curricular experience. Our programming and services reflect the values of community, inclusiveness, responsibility, leadership and well-being.

The Office of Student Affairs serves as a general advocate for all RISD students. In other words, we are the people to turn to when you have financial aid concerns, need to take a leave or withdraw from RISD, or when you're not quite sure whom to ask about your particular need.

  • Maggie Balch

    Maggie Balch

    Dean of Student Affairs
    BA | Pennsylvania State University
    MA | University of Connecticut
    mbalch@risd.edu
    401 454-6655

  • Tony Johnson

    Tony Johnson

    Assistant Dean of Student Affairs
    BFA | Rhode Island School of Design
    MS | University of Rhode Island (anticipated)
    ajohnson@risd.edu
    401 454-6638

  • Julie Talbutt

    Julie Talbutt

    Associate Director of Student Affairs Services
    BA | Macalester College
    MAT | Rhode Island College
    jtalbutt@risd.edu
    401 454-6467

  • Phil Oliveira

    Phil Oliveira

    Coordinator of Student Conduct and Compliance
    BFAs | University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
    poliveir@risd.edu
    401 454-6653

  • Brittany Boyne

    Brittany Boyne

    Coordinator of Disability Support Services
    BA | University of Rhode Island
    MEd | Wright State University
    bboyne@risd.edu
    401 709-8460

  • Sydney Lake

    Sydney Lake

    Deputy Title IX Coordinator for Students
    BA | Central Connecticut State University
    MS | New England College
    slake@risd.edu
    401 427-6919


Contact

For all general inquiries or to request Leave of Absence/Withdrawal paperwork, please email us at studaff@risd.edu or call
401 454-6600 to make an appointment with our staff.

For information on Orientation, please visit www.risd.edu/orientation or email orientation@risd.edu

For information on Commencement, please visit www.risd.edu/commencement or email commencement@risd.edu

4
The Providence River and cityscape as seen from the southern edge of campus, behind the Industrial Design and
Architecture buildings.