Applying to a Graduate Program

Prospective students need to apply to RISD through the Admissions Office, following the guidelines spelled out on the Graduate Admissions page. The application deadline has now passed for beginning graduate work in the fall of 2013. The next deadline – for fall 2014 – is in January 2014. All master's degree programs at RISD require a full-time commitment – for one, two or three years, depending on the program you choose.

Graduate Program Directors in each department take a slightly different approach to vetting applicants. Many will encourage you to visit RISD, if you haven’t already done so. Some require on-site interviews, while others may suggest a Skype conversation instead. Larger departments that get hundreds of applicants base decisions largely on the materials you submit in support of your application.

Overall, Graduate Program Directors are looking for students who are committed to pursuing intense, focused work in a specific discipline but who are open and inquisitive and ready to be challenged. Certain departments have specific prerequisites in terms of education and experience, but in general applicants to RISD’s graduate programs must have earned a bachelor's degree or equivalent at a recognized institution of higher learning.

For more information on specific graduate programs, please contact the Graduate Program Director in that area.


Grad Program Directors

ARCHITECTURE:
Christopher N. Bardt
Professor
cbardt@risd.edu
401 454-6281

CERAMICS:
Katy Schimert
Associate Professor
kschimer@risd.edu
401 454-6230

DIGITAL+MEDIA:
Kelly Dobson
Associate Professor
kdobson@risd.edu
401 277-4956

FURNITURE DESIGN:
Chris Rose
Critic
crose@risd.edu
401 4454-6683

GLASS:
Jocelyne Prince
Assistant Professor
jprince@risd.edu

GRAPHIC DESIGN:
Bethany Johns
Professor
bjohns@risd.edu
401 427-6956

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN:
Beth Mosher
Associate Professor
bmosher@risd.edu
401 454-6739

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE:
Eduarto Duarte
Assistant Professor
eduarte@risd.edu
401 454-6158

JEWELRY+METALSMITHING:
Tracy Steepy
Associate Professor
tsteepy@risd.edu
401 427-6953

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE:
Scheri Fultineer
Associate Professor
sfultine@risd.edu
401 454-6286

PAINTING:
Kevin Zucker
Assistant Professor
kzucker@risd.edu
401 454-6158

PHOTOGRAPHY:
Anne Fessler
Professor
afessler@risd.edu
401 454-6128

PRINTMAKING:
Andrew Raftery
Professor
araftery@risd.edu
401 454-6222

SCULPTURE:
Dean Snyder
Professor
dsnyder@risd.edu
401 454-6190

TLAD:
Paul Sproll
Professor
psproll@risd.edu
401 454-6132

TEXTILES:
Mary Anne Friel
Assistant Professor
mfriel@risd.edu
401 709-8429

Grad Studies Foreground Image 4
There’s a proper place for every tool in this particular studio workspace.