Applying to a Graduate Program

Prospective students need to apply to RISD through the Admissions Office, following the guidelines spelled out on the Graduate Admissions page. All master's degree programs at RISD require a full-time commitment – for one, two or three years, depending on the program you choose.

Graduate Program Directors in each department take a slightly different approach to vetting applicants. Many will encourage you to visit RISD, if you haven’t already done so. Some require on-site interviews, while others may suggest a Skype conversation instead. Larger departments that get hundreds of applicants base decisions largely on the materials you submit in support of your application.

Overall, Graduate Program Directors are looking for students who are committed to pursuing intense, focused work in a specific discipline but who are open and inquisitive and ready to be challenged. Certain departments have specific prerequisites in terms of education and experience, but in general applicants to RISD’s graduate programs must have earned a bachelor's degree or equivalent at a recognized institution of higher learning.

For more information on specific graduate programs, please contact the Graduate Program Director in that area.


Grad Program Directors

ARCHITECTURE
Hansy Better
Associate Professor
401 709-8545
hbetter@risd.edu

CERAMICS
David Katz
Assistant Professor
401 454-6190
dkatz@risd.edu

DIGITAL+MEDIA
Shona Kitchen
Assistant Professor
401 427-6912
skitchen@risd.edu

FURNITURE DESIGN
Chris Rose
Associate Professor
401 427-6946
crose@risd.edu

GLASS
Rachel Berwick
Professor
401 454-6190
rberwick@risd.edu

GRAPHIC DESIGN
Bethany Johns
Professor
401 427-6956
bjohns@risd.edu

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN
Andy Law
Associate Professor
401 277-4846
alaw@risd.edu

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE
Eduarto Duarte
Assistant Professor
401 454-6227
eduarte@risd.edu

JEWELRY+METALSMITHING
Tracy Steepy
Associate Professor
401 427-6953
tsteepy@risd.edu

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE
Scheri Fultineer
Associate Professor
401 454-6286
sfultine@risd.edu

PAINTING
Kevin Zucker
Associate Professor
401 454-6158
kzucker@risd.edu

PHOTOGRAPHY
Steve Smith
Associate Professor
401 277-4929
ssmith@risd.edu

PRINTMAKING
Brian Shure
Assistant Professor
401 454-6529
bshure@risd.edu

Sculpture
Taylor Baldwin
Assistant Professor
401 454-6190
tbaldwin@risd.edu

TLAD
Paul Sproll
Professor
401 454-6132
psproll@risd.edu

TEXTILES
Brooks Hagan
Associate Professor
401 709-8429
bhagan@risd.edu

Grad Studies Foreground Image 2
Installations such as this cascading pile of tortillas share gallery space with multimedia works in the grad show.