Literary Arts + Studies

Special Projects

  • Department Show

    Each spring LAS organizes a multimedia exhibition that showcases the range and diversity of work completed in or inspired by classes in the department. Often exploring the relationship between word and image, these outstanding examples of student work range from analytical research papers to digital poetry to installations that combine text and other media. Readings, performances and a publication of selected writing projects add engaging elements to the opening night festivities.

    On May 30, the Department of Literary Arts and Studies celebrated the achievements of the Class of 2014 Literary Arts and Studies Concentrators at its annual luncheon. There were twelve graduating concentrators from six different majors: Furniture Design, Graphic Design, Illustration, Industrial Design, Painting, and Textiles. The graduating concentrators were Lauren Allegrezza, Priscilla Boatwright, Tess Feigenbaum, Rachel Gross, Jessica Kleinman, William Lenard, Sara Miller, Claire Niederberger, William O’Brien, Keela Potter, Nicole Rodarte, and Jordan Seaberry.

    The luncheon featured a virtual show of concentrator work, from graduating seniors and continuing concentrators. The show illustrates the range of work done by students in the concentration.

  • E101 Prize

    Almost every incoming student takes the department’s required E101 course Literature Seminar: Design in Words. Each year at Convocation the department awards the E101 Prize to a student who writes the best essay — one combining critical acumen, literary sophistication and a clear, individual and original voice. 

    Current winner:

    Giacomo Sartorelli (2014)

    Past winners:

    Karen Ye (2013) 

    Megan Jerbic (2012)

    Willa Anderson (2011)

    Emily Neilson (2011)

    Lacey Hall (2010)

    Lizzie Kripke (2009)

    Marika Cowan (2008)

    Christine Shin (2007)