Admissions First-Year

Portfolio Reviews

RISD Portfolio Days

We're happy to announce our upcoming RISD-hosted portfolio day events. This is an opportunity for prospective high school seniors, high school juniors, and transfers to get an online portfolio review from RISD before applying. 

RISD representatives look forward to connecting with you to critique your work and provide information about the school. Please note, RISD does not make admissions decisions or accept portfolios during RISD Portfolio Day events, nor do we require you to participate in one of these events or connect with anyone from the Admissions Office as part of the application process. Participation does not eliminate the need to submit your portfolio as part of our application requirements. We encourage you to register for a review early on so that you have time to apply the feedback to your portfolio for application submission.

Available slots for RISD Portfolio Day events do fill up quickly. RISD representatives connect with as many attendees as the schedule of each event permits.

As the number of portfolio review requests far exceeds our capacity, we kindly ask that sophomores and freshman reserve the available slots for high school seniors, high school juniors and prospective transfers. If you are an underclass student and would still like to receive a review, learn more about requesting an AICAD portfolio review.

You can register for a review here.

RISD will host the following online portfolio review events:

RISD Portfolio Day — Thursday, 9/15/2022 at 4:00–7:00 PM EDT
RISD Portfolio Day — Thursday, 9/29/2022 at 4:00–7:00 PM EDT
RISD Portfolio Day — Monday, 10/3/2022 at 4:00–7:00 PM EDT
RISD Portfolio Day — Thursday, 10/27/2022 at 4:00–7:00 PM EDT
RISD Portfolio Day — Tuesday, 11/29/2022 at 4:00–7:00 PM EST

National Portfolio Day

RISD participates in a number of Portfolio Day events sponsored by the National Portfolio Day Association (NPDA). This year, we will only be attending some of their in-person events.

National Portfolio Days are an opportunity for prospective students to present their portfolios to representatives from art and design colleges and university art departments. Aspiring artists can gather a wide range of opinions and advice about their portfolios, which may help them strengthen their work and prepare their college applications.

RISD representatives look forward to connecting with you to critique your work and provide information about the school. Please note, however, that RISD does not make admissions decisions or accept portfolios during National Portfolio Day events, nor do we require you to participate in one of these events or connect with anyone from the Admissions Office as part of the application process. Participation does not eliminate the need to submit your portfolio as part of our application requirements.

Portfolio Day events, even online, can get very busy. We encourage you to prioritize RISD early on in your itinerary to increase the likelihood that we will be able to speak with you before the end of the day. RISD representatives connect with as many visitors as the schedule of each event permits.

Visit nationalportfolioday.org to see the full schedule of events.

RISD will participate in the following in-person NPDA events:

Atlanta National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 9/18/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM EDT
Austin National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 9/24/2022 at 10:00 AM–2:00 PM CDT
Dallas National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 9/25/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM CDT
Colorado National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 10/8/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM MDT
Chicago National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 10/16/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM CDT
Hartford National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 10/22/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM EDT
Boston National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 10/23/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM EDT
Baltimore National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 10/30/2022 at 1:00–5:00 PM EDT
New York, NY National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 11/5/2022 at 11:00 AM–3:00 PM EDT
Vancouver, BC National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 11/5/2022 at 11:00 AM–3:00 PM PDT
Seattle National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 11/6/2022 at 11:00 AM–3:00 PM PST
Philadelphia National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 11/6/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM EST
San Francisco National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 11/13/2022 at 10:00 AM–2:00 PM PST
Los Angeles National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 11/20/2022 at 12:00–4:00 PM PST
Miami National Portfolio Day — Saturday, 1/21/2023 at 12:00–4:00 PM EST
Sarasota National Portfolio Day — Sunday, 1/22/2023 at 12:00–4:00 PM EST

Sorry to say, RISD will not be attending any online NPDA events in this application cycle.

AICAD Slideroom portfolio review

There’s another way you can get a review from us without having to wait for a portfolio review event. Through The Association of Independent Colleges of Art & Design (AICAD), you can upload a sample of your portfolio to to the portfolio review portal and get detailed feedback from RISD representatives via email.

Upload Portfolio